Oops, you're using an old version of your browser so some of the features on this page may not be displaying properly.

MINIMAL Requirements: Google Chrome 24+Mozilla Firefox 20+Internet Explorer 11Opera 15–18Apple Safari 7SeaMonkey 2.15-2.23

ESMO 2018 Awardees announced

19 Sep 2018

LUGANO, Switzerland – The European Society for Medical Oncology (ESMO), the leading organisation for medical oncology, has revealed the four distinguished oncology professionals who will receive its annual awards during the ESMO 2018 Congress, 19-23 October, Munich, Germany. (1)

ESMO Award 2018 honours Jean-Charles Soria


The ESMO Award 2018 is bestowed on Jean-Charles Soria, international lung cancer expert and pioneer in the development of anti-cancer drugs. Soria has been involved in translational research related to precision medicine and tumour progression and has led multiple precision medicine trials.

ESMO Fellowship and Award Committee Chair, Evandro de Azambuja said “Soria has been a true leader to the medical oncology community. He has been an inspiration for the young generation with his great lectures”.

“This is truly an immense honour and receiving this award while being only 47 years old is really very special,” Soria said. “To receive such a visible award from it is an enormous sign of encouragement for me.”

Tony Mok bestowed with ESMO Lifetime Achievement Award 2018


Tony Mok receives the ESMO Lifetime Achievement Award 2018 for his practice changing contribution to lung cancer. He was principal investigator of the first study confirming the application of precision medicine in advanced lung cancer. He has also led and co-led multiple international phase III studies that have defined current management of advanced lung cancer.

De Azambuja described Mok as “a legend in medical oncology”, adding that “he was the first one to really put in practice precision medicine in advanced lung cancer with the use of targeted agents. Much of his research has led to a change of treatment paradigm for our lung cancer patients and helped to define the current practice.”

Mok said: “My gratefulness is beyond words. I am deeply indebted to all my local and global collaborators for their selfless support over the past two decades, and more so, to the ESMO leadership for their generous endorsement. This award is also acknowledging researchers in Asia and their significant contribution to personalised medicine.”

Pasi Jänne receives ESMO Translational Research Award 2018


Pasi A. Jänne receives the ESMO Translational Research Award 2018 for his contribution to changing the treatment paradigm of lung cancer. Jänne’s research combines laboratory-based studies with translational research and clinical trials of novel therapeutic agents in patients with lung cancer.

De Azambuja said: “Jänne’s investigations made him one of the co-discoverers of EGFR mutations, which changed the treatment paradigm of lung cancer and, subsequently, to the approval of the selective EGFR inhibitor osimertinib. Cancer research can only evolve with people like Jänne.”

“This award provides both inspiration and energy to continue our quest to develop new and novel therapeutic approaches in our fight against lung cancer. Furthermore, it is a recognition that studying precision therapies in lung cancer can impact and inform analogous approaches across other cancers,” Jänne said.

ESMO Women for Oncology Award 2018 commends Margaret Foti


Margaret Foti is the 2018 ESMO Women for Oncology Awardee in consideration of the legacy of young women, minority scientists, and investigators-in-training whose careers have been advanced as a result of her mentorship and support.

De Azambuja said: “Foti has clearly invested in women oncologists and researchers by fostering their careers and by ensuring that they do have similar opportunities to their male counterparts. She also has been an inspiration to many young oncologists.”

On receiving this distinction, Foti said: “It is very rewarding for me to be recognised with this wonderful award as I have strived throughout my career to serve as a mentor to women in the cancer field. The professional success of female scientists and physicians is essential for rapid progress in cancer research, biomedical science, patient care and public health.”

  1. The ESMO Award, ESMO Lifetime Achievement Award, ESMO Award for Translational Research, and ESMO Women for Oncology Award will be presented during the opening session of the ESMO 2018 Congress, on 19 October 2018, 11:50-13:30 (CEST) in Hall A2 – Room 18 of the Messe Munich.

Info on all ESMO awards is available here.

About the European Society for Medical Oncology (ESMO)

ESMO is the leading professional organisation for medical oncology. With 18,000 members representing oncology professionals from over 150 countries worldwide, ESMO is the society of reference for oncology education and information. ESMO is committed to offer the best care to people with cancer, through fostering integrated cancer care, supporting oncologists in their professional development, and advocating for sustainable cancer care worldwide. 

Last update: 19 Sep 2018

This site uses cookies. Some of these cookies are essential, while others help us improve your experience by providing insights into how the site is being used.

For more detailed information on the cookies we use, please check our Privacy Policy.

Customise settings
  • Necessary cookies enable core functionality. The website cannot function properly without these cookies, and you can only disable them by changing your browser preferences.