Oops, you're using an old version of your browser so some of the features on this page may not be displaying properly.

MINIMAL Requirements: Google Chrome 24+Mozilla Firefox 20+Internet Explorer 11Opera 15–18Apple Safari 7SeaMonkey 2.15-2.23

Heine H. Hansen Award

The Heine H. Hansen (HHH) Award was first awarded in 2015 in recognition of Professor Heine Hoi Hansen’s lifetime global contribution to lung cancer research and education.

This award, established by the International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer (IASLC) and the European Society for Medical Oncology (ESMO), acknowledges a lung cancer investigator who has made a significant contribution to lung cancer research and education on an international basis.

The HHH award is presented at the joint annual ESMO - IASLC lung cancer congress, the European Lung Cancer Congress (ELCC), and the Award recipient is invited to give a keynote lecture during the Opening Ceremony.

2024 – Enriqueta Felip, Spain 

felip enriqueta

The 2024 Heine H. Hansen Award is bestowed to Enriqueta Felip, Section Chief of the Medical Oncology Department at Vall d’Hebron University Hospital (HUVH), Head of the Thoracic Tumors Group at Vall d’Hebron Institute of Oncology (VHIO), and Professor of Medicine at the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (UAB).

Felip is being recognised for her outstanding contribution to thoracic oncology research, which currently focuses on accelerating more effective, personalised and targeted cancer medicines matched to specific molecular alterations identified in patients, unmasking molecular mechanisms of acquired cancer drug resistance, and optimising immune-based strategies in both advanced and early-stage non-small cell lung cancer.

Previous recipients of the Heine H. Hansen Award

  • Paul Baas (2023)
  • Fred R. Hirsch (2022)
  • Johan Vansteenkiste (2021)
  • Fiona Blackhall (2020)
  • Françoise Mornex (2019)
  • Fabrice Barlesi (2018)
  • Rafal Dziadziuszko (2017)
  • Suresh Senan (2016)
  • Pieter Postmus (2015)

Nomination and selection process

Each member of the ELCC Scientific Committee, including the Scientific Co-Chairs, is invited to nominate candidates who meet the eligibility criteria.

In order to be considered for the Award, a candidate must:

  • demonstrate an affiliation to a major academic or cancer research / treatment institution
  • possess an international reputation, and have made a significant contribution in the field of lung cancer research and education
  • have published results on lung cancer in highly cited peer-reviewed journals

The candidate must not:

Members of the ELCC Scientific Committee are eligible to receive the Award however they may not nominate themselves. More than one nomination is allowed.

Candidates for the award are reviewed and a final awardee is selected by the Selection Committee: the IASLC President, IASLC President-Elect, ESMO President and the ESMO Nomination Committee Chair.

This site uses cookies. Some of these cookies are essential, while others help us improve your experience by providing insights into how the site is being used.

For more detailed information on the cookies we use, please check our Privacy Policy.

Customise settings
  • Necessary cookies enable core functionality. The website cannot function properly without these cookies, and you can only disable them by changing your browser preferences.