Oops, you're using an old version of your browser so some of the features on this page may not be displaying properly.

MINIMAL Requirements: Google Chrome 24+Mozilla Firefox 20+Internet Explorer 11Opera 15–18Apple Safari 7SeaMonkey 2.15-2.23

ESMO Women for Oncology Award

The ESMO Women for Oncology Award recognises an ESMO member or a recognised institution that has significantly contributed to supporting the career of women working in oncology.

2023 – Georgina Long, Australia


The 2023 ESMO Women for Oncology Award was presented at the ESMO 2023 Opening ceremony to Georgina Long, Co-Medical Director of Melanoma Institute Australia (MIA) and Chair of Melanoma Medical Oncology and Translational Research at MIA and Royal North Shore Hospital, The University of Sydney.

Long is being acknowledged for her continued support to women’s career development, having promoted at MIA an environment where women in clinical oncology and research careers can flourish. Leader of an extensive clinical trials team and laboratory at MIA, first female president of the Society for Melanoma Research – the world’s largest association of melanoma researchers – she has also been a role model and inspiration for many women in clinical research.

Previous recipients of the ESMO Women for Oncology Award

  • Fatima Cardoso, Portugal (2022)
  • Rebecca Dent, Singapore (2021)
  • Caroline Robert, France (2020)
  • Cristiana Sessa, Switzerland (2019)
  • Margaret Foti, USA (2018)
  • Frances Shepherd, Canada (2017)
  • Sumitra Thongprasert, Thailand (2016)
  • Enriqueta Felip, Spain (2015)

Nomination and selection process

Nominations may be made by any ESMO member (except undergraduate medical or science student members). Candidates may not nominate themselves.

Candidate eligibility criteria

  • Be an individual, recognised institution or organisation that has made a significant contribution to supporting the career development of women working in oncology by promoting a merit-based working environment, fostering an environment for equality, implementing mentoring programmes or by facilitating personal-professional life balance.
  • Be an ESMO member (applies when nominating individuals)
  • Be an oncology professional from across the academic, research or clinical oncology environment (applies when nominating individuals)
  • Have not previously received the ESMO Women for Oncology Award
  • Have not received any other Award from ESMO within the last five (5) years
  • Not be a current or recent (last two years) member of either the ESMO Executive BoardESMO Council or the ESMO Nomination Committee

Final selection is made by the Selection Committee: ESMO President, ESMO President-Elect, ESMO Past-President, Chair of the ESMO Nomination Committee.

This site uses cookies. Some of these cookies are essential, while others help us improve your experience by providing insights into how the site is being used.

For more detailed information on the cookies we use, please check our Privacy Policy.

Customise settings
  • Necessary cookies enable core functionality. The website cannot function properly without these cookies, and you can only disable them by changing your browser preferences.