Oops, you're using an old version of your browser so some of the features on this page may not be displaying properly.

MINIMAL Requirements: Google Chrome 24+Mozilla Firefox 20+Internet Explorer 11Opera 15–18Apple Safari 7SeaMonkey 2.15-2.23

ESMO Award for Immuno-Oncology

This award is in commemoration of the European pioneer in cancer research and treatment, founding member and first President of ESMO, Prof. Georges Mathé.

It is presented to an individual internationally recognised for outstanding achievements in the area of Immuno-Oncology.

The ESMO Award for Immuno-Oncology is presented at the annual ESMO Immuno-Oncology Congress and the Award recipient is invited to give a keynote lecture during the Opening Ceremony.

ESMO Award for Immuno-Oncology 2021 recipient


The 2021 ESMO Award for Immuno-oncology will be presented to Wolf Hervé Fridman, Professor Emeritus of Immunology, University of Paris Medical School, Paris, France for his outstanding achievements in immuno-oncology.

He will deliver his award lecture on Wednesday, 8 December 2021, 12:45-13:15 CET at the ESMO Immuno-Oncology Congress 2021.

ESMO Award for Immuno-Oncology 2020 recipient


Jedd D. Wolchok, Chief of the Immuno-Oncology Service and Director of the Parker Institute for Cancer Immunotherapy at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, US received the ESMO Award for Immuno-Oncology 2020.

He will deliver his award lecture at the ESMO Immuno-Oncology Congress 2021.

Previous recipients of the ESMO Award for Immuno-Oncology

  • Thomas Gajewski (2019)
  • Cornelis Melief (2018)
  • Laurence Zitvogel (2017)

Georges Mathé was previously commemorated by the Georges Mathé Translational Research Fellowship (2012-2016). As of 2017, the fellowship has been replaced by the ESMO Award for Immuno-Oncology.

Nomination and selection process

The recipient is nominated by the ESMO Immuno-Oncology Congress Scientific Committee based on the following eligibility criteria.

The candidate must:

  • be an individual who has made a significant impact in the field of immuno-oncology
  • be an oncology professional, medical or clinical oncologist or researcher
  • be an ESMO member

The candidate must not:

Chairs of the current Scientific Committee may not be nominated. Members of the Scientific Committee are eligible however they may not nominate themselves. More than one nomination is allowed.

All nominations are evaluated and a final awardee is selected by the Selection Committee: the Scientific Committee Co-Chairs of the ESMO Immuno-Oncology Congress, the ESMO Nomination Committee Chair and the ESMO President.

This site uses cookies. Some of these cookies are essential, while others help us improve your experience by providing insights into how the site is being used.

For more detailed information on the cookies we use, please check our Privacy Policy.

Customise settings
  • Necessary cookies enable core functionality. The website cannot function properly without these cookies, and you can only disable them by changing your browser preferences.