Oops, you're using an old version of your browser so some of the features on this page may not be displaying properly.

MINIMAL Requirements: Google Chrome 24+Mozilla Firefox 20+Internet Explorer 11Opera 15–18Apple Safari 7SeaMonkey 2.15-2.23

2022 Heine H. Hansen Award Recipient Announced

24 Feb 2022

The European Society for Medical Oncology (ESMO) and the International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer (IASLC) have announced today that the 2022 Heine H. Hansen Award is conferred on Fred R. Hirsch for his lifelong outstanding contribution to lung cancer research.

Hirsch’s career in lung cancer research spans more than 25 years and includes translational research, targeted therapies and early detection of lung cancer. His research has helped to identify and validate prognostic markers for lung cancer outcomes and biomarkers for personalised lung cancer therapies that illustrate how these therapies work and who is most likely to benefit from them.

Hirsh is currently Executive Director at the Center for Thoracic Oncology in The Tisch Cancer Institute (TCI) and the Joe Lowe and Louis Price Professor of Medicine at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York, US.

He will deliver his award lecture on Wednesday, 30 March 2022 at ELCC 2022.

This site uses cookies. Some of these cookies are essential, while others help us improve your experience by providing insights into how the site is being used.

For more detailed information on the cookies we use, please check our Privacy Policy.

Customise settings
  • Necessary cookies enable core functionality. The website cannot function properly without these cookies, and you can only disable them by changing your browser preferences.