Oops, you're using an old version of your browser so some of the features on this page may not be displaying properly.

MINIMAL Requirements: Google Chrome 24+Mozilla Firefox 20+Internet Explorer 11Opera 15–18Apple Safari 7SeaMonkey 2.15-2.23

ESMO Lifetime Achievement Award

The prestigious ESMO Lifetime Achievement Award was established in 2006 to recognise international research by individuals, teams and organisations that demonstrated commitment to clinical cancer research and/or education. It is awarded as a recognition for outstanding lifetime achievements in oncology.

2022 – Bernard Escudier, France


The 2022 ESMO Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Bernard Escudier from Institut Gustave Roussy, Villejuif, France for his lifelong achievements in renal cell carcinoma, immunotherapy, and on development of new therapeutic strategies.

Bernard Escudier will deliver his Award Lecture during the ESMO Congress 2022 Opening ceremony on Friday, 9 September 2022. 

Previous recipients of the ESMO Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Alex A. Adjei, USA (2021)
  • Nadia Harbeck, Germany (2020)
  • Angelo Di Leo, Italy (2019)
  • Tony Mok, Hong Kong (2018)
  • José Baselga, USA (2017)
  • Richard Peto, United Kingdom (2016)
  • Nagahiro Saijo, Japan (2015)
  • Peter Boyle, France (2014)
  • Franco Cavalli, Switzerland (2013)
  • European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC), Belgium (2012)
  • Hans Jörg Senn, Switzerland (2011)
  • Alan H. Calvert, United Kingdom (2010)
  • Alan Ashworth, United Kingdom (2009)
  • Emili Montserrat, Spain (2008)
  • Netherlands Cancer Institute (NKI) (2007)
  • Breast International Group (BIG) (2006)

Nomination and selection process

Nominations may be made by any ESMO member (except undergraduate medical or science student members). Candidates may not nominate themselves.

Candidate eligibility criteria

  • Be an internationally recognised individual, team or organisation in any relevant discipline in the field of oncology
  • Demonstrate an affiliation to a major academic or cancer research / treatment institution(s)
  • Possess an international reputation and demonstrated lifetime commitment to clinical cancer research and/or education
  • Be renowned for their outstanding achievements carried out in clinical cancer research and/or education
  • Have published results on cancer research topics in highly cited peer-reviewed journals
  • Have not previously received the ESMO Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Not be a current or recent (last two years) member of either the ESMO Executive BoardESMO Council or the ESMO Nomination Committee

Final selection is made by the Selection Committee: ESMO President, ESMO President-Elect, ESMO Past-President, Chair of the ESMO Nomination Committee.

This site uses cookies. Some of these cookies are essential, while others help us improve your experience by providing insights into how the site is being used.

For more detailed information on the cookies we use, please check our Privacy Policy.

Customise settings
  • Necessary cookies enable core functionality. The website cannot function properly without these cookies, and you can only disable them by changing your browser preferences.