ESMO Lifetime Achievement Award

ESMO Awards 2020 1000x250

The prestigious ESMO Lifetime Achievement Award was established in 2006 to recognise international research by individuals, teams and organisations that demonstrate commitment to clinical cancer research and/or education. It is awarded as a recognition for outstanding lifetime achievements in oncology.

2019 - Angelo Di Leo, Italy

Angelo Di Leo is to be presented with the ESMO Lifetime Achievement Award 2019 in tribute to his outstanding career dedicated to cancer research and education. Di Leo is an internationally renowned expert in breast cancer, who pioneered research into the biology of these tumours and contributed significantly to the development of personalised treatment approaches for cancer patients. He also developed the medical oncology department at the Hospital of Prato, Italy, into a leading national centre for integrated cancer care and clinical research.

The award will be presented to him at this year’s ESMO Congress taking place in Barcelona, 27 September - 1 October.

It is a huge pleasure for me to receive such a prestigious award from what is now a global society. I believe I have had two big achievements in my career: one has been to create this place in Prato, starting from nothing, where people now come to be cured of such a critical disease as cancer, with a lot of confidence in our programme. The other is that I have had the opportunity to work with and develop a team of young, extremely skilled oncologists and researchers – I am proud to say that the programme will successfully continue without me one day.

Angelo Di Leo

Previous recipients of the ESMO Lifetime Achievement Award

  • 2018 - Tony Mok, Hong Kong
  • 2017 - José Baselga, USA
  • 2016 - Richard Peto, United Kingdom
  • 2015 - Nagahiro Saijo, Japan
  • 2014 - Peter Boyle, France
  • 2013 – Franco Cavalli, Switzerland
  • 2012 – European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC), Belgium
  • 2011 - Hans Jörg Senn, Switzerland
  • 2010 - Alan H. Calvert, United Kingdom
  • 2009 - Alan Ashworth, United Kingdom
  • 2008 - Emili Montserrat, Spain
  • 2007 - Netherlands Cancer Institute (NKI)
  • 2006 - Breast International Group (BIG)

This site uses cookies. Some of these cookies are essential, while others help us improve your experience by providing insights into how the site is being used.

For more detailed information on the cookies we use, please check our Privacy Policy.

Customise settings