ESMO Award for Translational Research

ESMO Awards 2020 1000x250

The award is presented to candidates who are internationally recognised for outstanding achievements in translational research.

2019 – Charles Swanton, UK

The 2019 ESMO Translational Research Awardee is Charles Swanton, Royal Society Napier Professor and Chief Clinician at Cancer Research UK. The Award honours Swanton’s exceptional achievements in translational research: among other things, his research group provided conclusive evidence that the way in which tumours evolve over time follows Darwinian principles of natural selection and branched evolution – and that this frequently constitutes an underlying cause of treatment failure.

The award will be presented to him at this year’s ESMO Congress taking place in Barcelona, 27 September - 1 October.

Our research is contributing to clinical trials of new treatment possibilities like T-cell therapies targeting clonal neoantigens. We are particularly excited about the role of circulating tumour DNA in the detection of minimal residual disease following surgery, to allow treatment escalation in the adjuvant setting within new clinical trial designs. This award is an encouragement to continue with our work and I gratefully accept it on behalf of my team: it is for them, more than for me, because none of our progress would have been possible without their contributions. The funding and support of Cancer Research UK, UCL Hospitals BRC and the Francis Crick Institute have also been vital.     

Charles Swanton

Previous recipients of the award (ESMO Award for Translational Research as of 2017, previously Hamilton Fairley Award)

  • 2018 - Pasi A. Jänne, USA
  • 2017 - Alberto Bardelli, Italy
  • 2016 - Carlos Caldas, United Kingdom
  • 2015 - Cornelius Punt, The Netherlands
  • 2014 - Heikki Joensuu, Finland
  • 2013 - Roger Stupp, Switzerland
  • 2012 – Jean-Yves Blay, France
  • 2011 - Rafael Rosell, Spain
  • 2010 - Bengt Glimelius, Sweden
  • 2009 - T.Andrew Lister, United Kingdom
  • 2008 - Yosef Yarden, Israel
  • 2006 - V. Diehl, Germany
  • 2004 - B.A.J. Ponder, United Kingdom
  • 2002 - A. Levitzki, Israel
  • 2000 - P. Borst, The Netherlands
  • 1998 - T. Tursz, France
  • 1996 - A. de la Chapelle, Finland
  • 1994 - B. Coiffier, France
  • 1992 - H.M. Pinedo, The Netherlands
  • 1990 - R. Mertelsmann, Germany
  • 1988 - G. Klein, Sweden

This site uses cookies. Some of these cookies are essential, while others help us improve your experience by providing insights into how the site is being used.

For more detailed information on the cookies we use, please check our Privacy Policy.

Customise settings