ESMO Award for Immuno-Oncology

ESMO Awards 2020 1000x250

In commemoration of the European pioneer in cancer research and treatment, founding member and first President of ESMO, Prof. Georges Mathé, the ESMO Award in Immuno-Oncology is presented to an individual internationally recognised for outstanding achievements in the area of Immuno-Oncology.

The recipient will be nominated by the ESMO Immuno-Oncology Congress Scientific Committee.

The award consists of the opportunity to give a scientific lecture, a prize and free registration, free accommodation and reimbursement of travel expenses to ESMO Immuno-Oncology Congress in Geneva, Switzerland.

Nomination and selection process

Each member of the ESMO Immuno-Oncology Scientific Committee may nominate a candidate who meets the eligibility criteria below:

  • Be an individual (institutions and organisations are not eligible) who has made a significant impact in the field of immuno-oncology.
  • Be an oncology professional, medical or clinical oncologist or researcher
  • Be an ESMO member
  • Not be a current or recent (last two years) member of either the ESMO Executive Board, the ESMO Council or the ESMO Nomination Committee
  • Not be a member of the current ESMO Immuno-Oncology Congress Scientific Committee 

All nominations will be evaluated, and a final awardee will be selected by the Selection Committee: ESMO Nomination Committee Chair, Scientific Co-Chairs of the ESMO Immuno-Oncology Congress. This recommendation is forwarded to the ESMO Executive Board for final approval.

Georges Mathé was previously commemorated via the Georges Mathé Translational Research Fellowship (2012-2016). As of 2017, the fellowship has been replaced by the ESMO Award for Immuno-Oncology.

This site uses cookies. Some of these cookies are essential, while others help us improve your experience by providing insights into how the site is being used.

For more detailed information on the cookies we use, please check our Privacy Policy.

Customise settings