Apply to Become an ESMO Designated Centre

Cancer centres which provide comprehensive services in supportive and palliative care as part of their routine care can apply to receive the ESMO recognition as an "ESMO Designated Centre of Integrated Oncology and Palliative Care".

Application criteria and process:

  • Any oncology department or cancer centre can apply
  • Size is not important; to be eligible what matters are the quality and the extent of the integration of services.

The criteria for accreditation are based on recommendations from the World Health Organization (WHO) guidelines on the provision of palliative care for patients with cancer:

  • The criteria reflect the issues of integration (Items 1-2)
  • Credentialing (Items 3-4)
  • Service provision (Items 5-11)
  • Research (Item 12)
  • Education (Item 13).

The complete list is included in the application form (please see below):

Download the application form (deadline: 15 April 2019)

Important details:

The centres corresponding physician must be an ESMO Member or apply before sending their application - not a member apply for membership here.

The Designated Centres Working Group may perform 'ad hoc visits' to accredited centers.

The centres receiving the certification will be entitled to:

  • Use the subtitle, 'ESMO Designated Centre of Integrated Oncology and Palliative Care'
  • Use the ESMO logo in accordance with the ESMO Logo Policy (marketing/advertising related to the centre itself. No advertising of specific events)
  • Be eligible to receive fellows in palliative medicine supported by ESMO grants

  • The ESMO designation is valid for three years and the centres can reapply

Programme objectives

  • Promote the integration of palliative care services into the existing national cancer care guidelines
  • Encourage palliative care education and training for medical oncologists as well as other healthcare professionals
  • Expand the cooperation between ESMO and other existing professional medical associations and organisations worldwide in supporting and sustaining palliative care development