ESMO 2014: Does Continuing Medical Education Really Make a Difference?

Yes! And ESMO guarantees high-quality and effective reaccreditation programmes for oncologists. If you are looking to improve your clinical performance, nothing compares to face-to-face interaction, peer review information exchange and networking. All of this can be found at ESMO 2014

ESMO congresses have a long-standing tradition of excellence in educational programmes for oncologists. Here, ESMO 2014 Educational Chair, Prof. Jean-Yves Douillard has selected some sessions from the congress educational programme not to miss! Three educational sessions that concern all medical oncologists and four dealing with organ specific tumours.

Three educational sessions that concern all medical oncologists

Supportive and palliative care

Symptoms in Oncology

  • Saturday 27 September 2014, 09:00-10:30
  • Chair: C.I. Ripamonti – Milano/IT, Co-Chair: F. Strasser – St. Gallen/CH

Immunotherapy of cancer

Fundamental principles of cancer immunotherapy: What the clinicians need to know

  • Sunday 28 September 2014, 16:00-17:30
  • Chair: S. Scholl – Paris/FR,, Co-Chair: U. Keilholz – Berlin/DE

General interest

Cancer in young adults (18-35)

  • Monday 29 September 2014, 16:00-17:30
  • Chair: S.Fossa – Oslo/NO, Co-Chair: G. Pentheroudakis – Ioannina/GR

Four educational sessions dealing with specific organ tumours

Breast cancer

Management of breast cancer in specific populations

  • Saturday 27 September 2014, 11:00-12:30
  • Chair: F.C. Cardoso – Lisboa/PT

Gastrointestinal tumours

Optimising the treatment of colorectal cancer

  • Saturday 27 September 2014, 14:15-15:45
  • Chair: R. Adams – Cardiff/UK, Co-Chair: J. Sastre – Madrid/ES

Lung cancer and other thoracic malignancies

Systemic treatment of metastatic NSCLC

  • Saturday 27 September 2014, 09:15-10:45
  • Chair: B. Besse – Villejuif/FR, Co-Chair: L. Crinò – S. Andrea delle Fratte/IT

Genitourinary tumours

Update in genitourinary oncology

  • Saturday 27 September 2014, 16:00-17:30
  • Chair: B. Escudier – Villejuif/FR, Co-Chair: I.Tannock – Toronto/CA