ESMO 2010 Programme

CME accreditation

The 35th ESMO Congress scientific programme was designated for a maximum of 24 hours of European CME credits (ECMEC’s).

The Congress operated an honour system implying that each medical specialist was expected to claim only those hours of credit that he/she actually spent in the Congress (with a maximum of 6 credits per day, 3 for a half day).

ACOE works in conjunction with the European Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (EACCME) operating under the umbrella of the European Union of Medical Specialists (UEMS). The EACCME plays the role of a clearinghouse, facilitating the accreditation endorsement by the national CME regulatory bodies.

CME credits gained by your participation in the 35th ESMO Congress are recognized by most of the national CME authorities in Europe, which have agreed to cooperate in this European system.

Through a mutual agreement between the UEMS and the American Medical Association (AMA), the European CME credits are also recognized towards the Physician’s Recognition Award (PRA). To convert European CME credits to AMA PRA Category 1 credits, contact AMA (

The Congress was accredited with ESMO-MORA category 1 points and 28 Italian CME (crediti ECM).