ESMO Award for Translational Research

The Award is presented to candidates who are internationally recognised for outstanding achievements in translational research.

2018 – Pasi A. Jänne, USA

The ESMO Translational Research Award will be presented to Pasi A. Jänne during the Opening Session of the ESMO 2018 Congress in Munich on Friday, 19 October 2018.

Jänne’s research combines laboratory-based studies with translational research and clinical trials of novel therapeutic agents in patients with lung cancer. His main research interests centre on understanding and translating the therapeutic importance of oncogenic alterations in lung cancer.

Jänne is Director of the Lowe Center for Thoracic Oncology and Director of the Belfer Center for Applied Cancer Science at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. He is also a Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School.


I am both thrilled and honoured to be receiving this prestigious award from ESMO. I have had the pleasure to work with an amazing group of collaborators and colleagues and the privilege to treat and study patients with lung cancer. Without them it would not have been possible to bring our laboratory observations to the clinic and to evaluate their impact on the outcome of lung cancer patients. This award provides both inspiration and energy to continue our quest to develop new and novel therapeutic approaches in our fight against lung cancer. Furthermore, it is a recognition that studying precision therapies in lung cancer can impact and inform analogous approaches across other cancers.

Pasi A. Jänne, 2018 ESMO Translational Research Award winner

On behalf of the ESMO Fellowship and Award Committee, Chair Evandro de Azambuja said: “Jänne’s investigations made him one of the co-discoverers of EGFR mutations, which changed the treatment paradigm of lung cancer and, subsequently, to the approval of the selective EGFR inhibitor osimertinib. Cancer research can only evolve with people like Jänne.” 

Previous winners of the Award (ESMO Award for Translational Research as of 2017, previously Hamilton Fairley Award)

  • 2017 - Alberto Bardelli, Italy
  • 2016 - Carlos Caldas, United Kingdom
  • 2015 - Cornelius Punt, The Netherlands
  • 2014 - Heikki Joensuu, Finland
  • 2013 - Roger Stupp, Switzerland
  • 2012 – Jean-Yves Blay, France
  • 2011 - Rafael Rosell, Spain
  • 2010 - Bengt Glimelius, Sweden
  • 2009 - T.Andrew Lister, United Kingdom
  • 2008 - Yosef Yarden, Israel
  • 2006 - V. Diehl, Germany
  • 2004 - B.A.J. Ponder, United Kingdom
  • 2002 - A. Levitzki, Israel
  • 2000 - P. Borst, The Netherlands
  • 1998 - T. Tursz, France
  • 1996 - A. de la Chapelle, Finland
  • 1994 - B. Coiffier, France
  • 1992 - H.M. Pinedo, The Netherlands
  • 1990 - R. Mertelsmann, Germany
  • 1988 - G. Klein, Sweden