ESMO Award for Immuno-Oncology

In commemoration of the European pioneer in cancer research and treatment, founding member and first President of ESMO, Prof. Georges Mathé, the new ESMO Award in Immuno-Oncology is presented to an individual internationally recognised for outstanding achievements in the area of Immuno-Oncology.

The recipient will be nominated by the ESMO Immuno-Oncology Congress Scientific Committee.

The award consists of the opportunity to give a scientific lecture, a prize and free registration, free accommodation and reimbursement of travel expenses to ESMO Immuno-Oncology Congress in Geneva, Switzerland.

Nomination and selection process

The Scientific Committee will nominate candidates who must:

  • Be an individual (institutions and organisations are not eligible) who has made a significant impact in the field of immuno-oncology.
  • Be an ESMO member
  • Be an oncology professional, medical or clinical oncologist or researcher
  • Not be a current or recent (last two years) member of either the  ESMO Executive Board or the  ESMO Fellowship and Award Committee

All nominations will be evaluated and a final awardee will be selected by the ESMO Fellowship and Award Committee in collaboration with the Co-Chairs of the ESMO Immuno-Oncology Congress. This Task Force’s recommendation is forwarded to the ESMO Executive Board for final consideration and selection.

Georges Mathé was previously commemorated via the Georges Mathé Translational Research Fellowship (2012-2016). As of 2017, the fellowship has been replaced by the ESMO Award for Immuno-Oncology.