ESMO Council

The ESMO Council supports and advises the Executive Board and proposes strategic topics for discussion at the annual strategy meeting.  

Full details about the composition, tasks and responsibilities and the meetings are detailed in Article 21-23 of the Bylaws.


The ESMO Council is composed of the following members:

  • The members of the Executive Board
  • Chairpersons of the Permanent Committees
  • Chairperson of the Nomination Committee
  • Editors-in-Chief of Journal titles owned by ESMO
  • Up to 5 additional Council members appointed by the Executive Board (optional)

ESMO Council 2020

Solange Peters, Switzerland - President
Andrés Cervantes, Spain - President-Elect
Josep Tabernero, Spain - Past-President
Florian Lordick, Germany - Director of Education
Rosa Giuliani, United Kingdom - Director of Public Policy / Global Policy Committee Chair
Susana Banerjee, United Kingdom - Director of Membership
Giuseppe Curigliano, Italy - Nomination Committee Chair
Ravindran Kanesvaran, Singapore - Asia Pacific Public Policy Committee Chair
Elisabeth de Vries, Netherlands - Cancer Medicines Committee Chair
Dirk Arnold, Germany - Compliance Committee Chair
Paolo Casali, Italy - European Policy Committee Chair
Evandro de Azambuja, Belgium - Fellowship Committee Chair
George Pentheroudakis, Greece - Guidelines Committee Chair
Fortunato Ciardiello, Italy - Membership Committee Chair
Marina Garassino, Italy - National Societies Committee Chair
Stefan Zimmermann, Switzerland – Press & Media Affairs Committee Chair 
Emile Voest, Netherlands - Publishing Committee Chair
Pilar Garrido, Spain - Women for Oncology Committee Chair
Teresa Amaral, Germany – Young Oncologists Committee Chair
Fabrice André, France - Editor-in-Chief Annals of Oncology
Christoph Zielinski, Austria - Editor-in-Chief ESMO Open 
John Haanen, Netherlands - Editor-in-Chief Immuno-Oncology Technology
Rolf Stahel, Switzerland - Council Member
Karin Jordan, Germany - Educational Committee Chair

Last update: January 2020