Nomination and Election of National Representatives

ESMO Representatives act as ambassadors of ESMO’s mission in their respective country and serve for a two-year period.

Find out more about ESMO National and Regional Representatives here

Extended Term in Office

At the start of 2014, the following National Representatives agreed to serve an additional term in office. We would like to extend a warm thank you to them for their dedication and involvement. They will remain on the National Representatives and Membership Committee for the period 2014-2015:

  • Alketa Ymeri, Albania
  • Yauheni Baranau, Belarus
  • Timur Ceric, Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Borislav Belev, Croatia
  • Tomas Svoboda, Czech Republic
  • Michel Ducreux, France
  • Alinta Hegmane, Latvia
  • Petar Stefanovski, Macedonia, the Former Yugoslav Republic of
  • Vladimir Todorovic, Montenegro
  • Machteld Wymenga, Netherlands
  • Vladimir Moiseyenko, Russia
  • Jozef Mardiak, Slovakia (2014 only)
  • Erika Matos, Slovenia
  • Roger Henriksson, Sweden
  • Ahmet Demirkazik, Turkey

Newly Nominated National Representatives

ESMO is pleased to welcome the following new representatives to the National Representatives and Membership Committee (2014-2015):

  • Mario Decatis, Cyprus (2014 only)
  • Anneli Elme, Estonia
  • Andreas Stensvold, Norway
  • Peeter Karihtala, Finland
  • Snezana Susnjar, Serbia
  • Razvan Popescu, Switzerland (acting national representative for 2014)

Elections of Representatives in 2014

In countries with over 50 Full members, ESMO representatives are elected via an online voting open to all full, junior, emeritus and honorary members in good standing. In 2014, the following candidates were elected in the countries below:

  • Ralf-Dieter Hofheinz, Germany
  • Bella Kaufman, Israel
  • Pilar Lianes Barragan, Spain

NB: Members entitled to vote receive a personal invitation. If you have not renewed your membership you will not be invited to vote.

Stepping down from National Representative Involvement

Some of the members of the National Representatives and Membership Committee and/or Membership Steering Group (SG) have stepped down from their position at the end of 2013 (term in office in brackets) – the committee thank them for their devoted service and time over the years.

  • Adamos Adamou, Cyprus (2013)
  • Peeter Padrik, Estonia (2008-2013)
  • Maarit Barlund, Finland (2011-2013)
  • Pia Osterlund, Finland - SG (2010-2013)
  • Margaret Hutka, United Kingdom – Flims rep. (2010-2013)
  • Ulrich Keilholz, Germany - SG (2008-2013)
  • Ron Epelbaum, Israel (2009-2013)
  • Giovanni Rosti, Italy - SG (2006-2013)
  • Eva Hofsli, Norway (2011-2013)
  • Ramon Colomer, Spain - SG (2011-2013)
  • Solange Peters, Switzerland (2013)