New Chair and New Members of the Young Oncologists Committee 2016

The Young Oncologists Committee is happy to introduce the new chairperson of the Young Oncologists Committee Matthias Preusser, Associate Professor of Medicine at the department of Medicine and Comprehensive Cancer Center, Medical University of Vienna

Matthias Preusser

I’m looking forward to further develop the already successful YOC projects and initiatives. In addition I would like to broaden our activities to support not only colleagues who are already pursuing a career in oncology, but also young people who want to enter the field of oncology - such as medical students or young physicians. Another main focus is to help set-up or further develop national YO organisations in the individual countries to further increase and strengthen our network.

Matthias Preusser, YOC Chair 2016-2017

Matthias replaces Raffaele Califano (Consultant in Medical Oncology at the Christie NHS Foundation Trust in Manchester). The YOC and the ESMO Head Office sincerely thanks Raffaele for his commitment over his mandate and the significant progress the YOC has made under his leadership.

ESMO President-Elect Josep Tabernero (Spain) is the mentor to the YOC committee 2016-2017.

2016 also introduces new members to the YOC:

  • Teresa Amaral (Portugal)
  • Guillem Argiles (Spain)
  • Claudia Cardone (Italy)
  • Laurids Poulsen (Denmark)
  • Alexandra Tyulyandina (Russian Federation)
  • Radu Vidra (Romania)

Read more about the YOC and meet the members

The YOC and the ESMO Head Office would like to thank the members that are now leaving the YOC for their involvement and contribution over the past years: Raffaele Califano (United Kingdom), Ramon de Mello (Portugal), Erika Martinelli (Italy), Sophie Postel-Vinay (France), Camilla Qvortrup (Denmark), and Nikita Volkov (Russian Federation).