ESMO National Representatives and Membership Committee

The ESMO Membership Department works in close collaboration with the National Representatives and Membership Committee and the Membership Steering Group in order to achieve our goals and serve our members.

The National Representatives and Membership Committee is composed of national representatives, and includes a strategic core group, the Membership Steering Group. The achievements and expansion of activities of ESMO would not be possible without the dedicated and hard work of the volunteers who are implicated in the boards, committees and working groups.

What Does the Representative's Role Involve?

As the Society's spokespersons in their respective countries, National Representatives act as ambassadors of ESMO's mission, sharing the same values and pursuing the same objectives, in the joint effort to benefit the speciality of medical oncology on a national as well as international level. If you are interested in representing your country, contact your national oncology society or Contact Us at ESMO (select ‘membership’)

Membership Steering Group

This core group is responsible for promoting ESMO membership by collaborating with National Representatives Committee, the Young Oncologists Committee and national oncology societies, both facilitating the application process and speeding up the approval of new memberships through standard procedures.

Activities and Responsibilities

It is responsible for supervising the membership application approval process as well as reviewing the ESMO membership criteria. An important area is to facilitate networking and communication between ESMO members by designing and overseeing resources, constantly upgrading and updating the ESMO Membership database, as well as making it easily accessible to members. The Steering Group aims to strengthen the membership structure and develop future strategies and services.


  • Fatima Cardoso, Portugal

Steering Group Members

  • Robert Coleman, United Kingdom
  • Paulo Cortes, Portugal
  • Michel Ducreux, France
  • Marina Garassino, Italy
  • Ralf-Dieter Hofheinz, Germany
  • Ulrik Lassen, Denmark
  • Pilar Lianes Barragán, Spain
  • Vladimir Moiseyenko, Russia
  • Tomas Svoboda, Czech Republic
  • Renata Zaucha, Poland