ESMO Educational Committee (EDC)

The Educational Committee's goal is to promote education in oncology and ensure a high standard of professional qualification and practice.

Activities and responsibilities

  • Supervising, reviewing and approving:
    • Educational programmes of ESMO events
    • Educational activities
    • Certification and recertification programmes
  • Compiling the Educational programme of the ESMO Congress
  • Selecting experts for the Faculty list


A steering committee (EDC-SC) is responsible to lead the overall activities of the Educational Committee, as well as act as Advisory Board for OncologyPRO, liaising with the educational sub-committees:


Jean-Yves Douillard, ICO Centre Rene Gauducheau, France

Steering Committee (EDC-SC) Members

  • Raffaele Califano, United Kingdom
  • Andres Cervantes Ruiperez, Spain
  • Robert Eckert, Germany 
  • Michele Ghielmini, Switzerland
  • Richard Herrmann, Switzerland
  • Lorenz Jost, Switzerland
  • Claus H. Koehne, Germany
  • Nicholas Pavlidis, Greece
  • Florian Strasser, Switzerland
  • Giampaolo Tortora, Italy

Committee Members

  • Fabrice André, France
  • Jean-Yves Blay, France
  • Christian Dittrich, Austria
  • Martin Dreyling, Germany
  • Reinhard Dummer, Switzerland
  • Bernard Escudier, France
  • Enriqueta Felip, Spain
  • Jorn Herrstedt, Denmark
  • Pierre Laurent-Puig, France
  • Jonathan Ledermann, United Kingdom
  • Marco Merlano, Italy
  • George Pentheroudakis, Greece
  • Marco A. Pierotti, Italy
  • Hans-Joerg Senn, Switzerland
  • Alberto Sobrero, Italy
  • Michael Weller, Switzerland
  • Gilbert Zulian, Switzerland